Green Living

EnviroCycle Compost Bin Review & Giveaway!

Confession:  After Penelope was born, I gave my compost bin the middle finger. I just couldn’t do it anymore. Something had to give and composting was one of those things that got pushed to the back burner, along with showering, and wearing anything other than yoga pants. Sorry, I take that back: other than sweat pants. It was a fancy day if I put on yoga pants.

I have been composting since I was 20 years old (if you’re new around here, I just turned 30). My first compost bin was a DIY version with chicken coop wire. I really wish I had  a picture to show you! And I wish I had a picture to show you of my now husband’s face when he came over to my house for the first time and asked “What the hell is that?!” My second composter is one I got from God knows where, and it was this huge stackable contraption thing. Hated it. Third composter is one I got from the city they were selling for a good price one Earth day a couple of years ago. And it was ok, just hard to mix up.

Meet my fourth composter. I think fourth time’s the charm. I luh-uv this thing. I got the mini version because with our move to Jupiter, FL, next summer and downsizing our house and yard size, I wanted to have a smaller composter. Even if you only have a porch and do container gardening, this composter would be perfect. Envirocycle is made with post-consumer BPA-free plastic and the packaging is minimized and printed on recycled stock with water-based inks.

To mix it up, all you have to do is give it a whirl. Then when your compost is ready, you just wheel it on over to your jardin. So freaking easy.

And it also makes a compost tea at the bottom, it’s genius I tell ya. You find Envirocycle on Facebook and Twitter.

If you have never composted before, it is pretty easy. Don’t let my postpartum freak out moment scare you off. Just get yourself some sort of kitchen counter compost bin. You can get a fancy one with carbon filters or you can just get a metal bucket with a lid like the picture below, I got it from World Market for less than $20. And then fill her up.

Here’s a list of things you can compost:

Green (wet)

  • fruit and vegetables peels
  • coffee grinds and filters
  • tea bags
  • egg shells
  • garden waste (but not weeds!)
  • plant trimmings (but not stuff that has pests on them)
  • table waste

Brown (dry)

  • leaves
  • dry grass
  • straw
  • sawdust (just make sure it’s not from wood with arsenic in it)
  • newspaper (I don’t do this though because of the ink on the paper)
  • paper and egg cartons

DO NOT PUT IN COMPOST:

  • meat and fish
  • dairy
  • sauces
  • oil and fat
  • pet waste
  • diseased plants
  • weeds
  • bones

EnviroCycle Compost Bin Review & Giveaway!

Dump your scraps in your EnviroCycle compost bin. When I added my first scraps, I added a shovel full of dirt from my garden to activate and help the composting cycle go faster.

EnviroCycle Compost Bin Review & Giveaway!

Some other composting tips:

  • roll your drum at least three times a week
  • keep material moist. If it is too wet, just add some dry leaves to balance it out
  • smaller pieces of scraps compost faster
  • always maintain a 50/50 ratio of green and brown material

Now for the giveaway! EnviroCycle is giving their fabulous compost bin to one lucky winner.

To enter, all you have to do is subscribe to my YouTube channel, then come back here and leave one comment saying you have done so.

For 3 additional entries, you can do any of the following and leave a separate comment for each one you have done. Remember, you must subscribe to my YouTube channel before you can qualify for additional entries.

  • Like my Facebook page
  • Share this post on Facebook or Pinterest, and tag @MamaAndBabyLove
  • Sign up for my newsletter

Entries will be closed on December 1, 2012 at 12pm EST. Winners will be selected via Random.org and emailed. Please refer to the policies page for full giveaway details.

You Might Also Like

  • Amy
    November 14, 2012 at 2:38 PM

    I subscribe on YouTube!

  • Amy
    November 14, 2012 at 2:39 PM

    I like you on Facebook!

  • Amy
    November 14, 2012 at 2:39 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter!

  • Jess Allen
    November 14, 2012 at 2:46 PM

    Hi, Stephanie-
    I’d love, love, love to win this composter…ours is falling apart and with 2 boys it’s also fallen to the bottom of the list of things to replace. I love composting and I’m sad I haven’t been able to the past 8 months or so. I love seeing our scraps go somewhere other than the trash.

    Jess

  • krista
    November 14, 2012 at 2:55 PM

    I just subscribed to your YouTube channel 🙂 love your blog!!

  • Kat
    November 14, 2012 at 3:05 PM

    subscribed to youtube channel! love the freezer slow cooker recipes and i desperately need a composter like this in my snooty neighborhood!

  • Kat
    November 14, 2012 at 3:06 PM

    liked on facebook too! loving your grain free recipes – headed to check out more of them!

  • Tina
    November 14, 2012 at 3:13 PM

    I subscribed to your youtube channel! 🙂

  • Tina
    November 14, 2012 at 3:13 PM

    I liked your facebook page! 🙂

  • Tina
    November 14, 2012 at 3:15 PM

    I signed up for your newsletter 🙂

  • Kimberly
    November 14, 2012 at 3:25 PM

    I subscribe to your youtube channel; I have for a while!

  • Kimberly
    November 14, 2012 at 3:25 PM

    I’m signed up for your newsletter already. 🙂

  • Kimberly
    November 14, 2012 at 3:25 PM

    Already liked you on FB, too! 😉

  • Kimberly
    November 14, 2012 at 3:27 PM

    Not sure if we need to post the link here or not, but I pinned this post & tagged you! http://pinterest.com/pin/24347654207000243/

  • Liza Glick
    November 14, 2012 at 3:38 PM

    I subscribed!

  • Brooke
    November 14, 2012 at 3:43 PM

    I subscribed to your youtube channel! and already follow you on facebook 🙂

  • Kacey
    November 14, 2012 at 3:45 PM

    I subscribed to your newsletter! AND I love to compost!

  • Kacey
    November 14, 2012 at 3:46 PM

    I subscribed to your YOUTUBE Channel! AND I love to compost!

  • Brooke
    November 14, 2012 at 3:46 PM

    Also subscribed to your newsletter! I dabbled in thoughts of composting and a garden as well but never got around to it. I guess I was lacking motivation since a baby was taking all of my time and energy. I hope to do both of these next year!

  • Kacey
    November 14, 2012 at 3:46 PM

    I’ve totally been “LIKE”-ing you on Facebook for months now! AND I love to compost!

  • Brooke
    November 14, 2012 at 3:48 PM

    Shared this post on facebook!

  • Van
    November 14, 2012 at 3:55 PM

    I subscribed to YouTube.

  • Van
    November 14, 2012 at 3:55 PM

    I liked your Facebook page. =D

  • Candy M.
    November 14, 2012 at 4:09 PM

    I subscribed to your YouTube channel.

  • Candy M.
    November 14, 2012 at 4:09 PM

    I like you on FB. 🙂

  • Candy M.
    November 14, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    I just signed up for your newsletter.

  • Heather
    November 14, 2012 at 4:15 PM

    I subscribed to YouTube! This is the best. I so miss being able to compost. Hate putting the scraps in the garbage.

  • Heather
    November 14, 2012 at 4:15 PM

    Already get your newsletter!

  • Heather
    November 14, 2012 at 4:16 PM

    And have liked you on facebook for like forever!

  • karleyfix
    November 14, 2012 at 4:48 PM

    I pinned on pinterest

  • karleyfix
    November 14, 2012 at 4:48 PM

    I like you on facebook

  • karleyfix
    November 14, 2012 at 4:49 PM

    i subscribed to your newsletter

  • Kate SCHWARTZ
    November 14, 2012 at 5:08 PM

    I subscribed to your YouTube channel!

  • Kate SCHWARTZ
    November 14, 2012 at 5:09 PM

    I have been one of your likes on Facebook for a while!! 🙂

  • Ashlee
    November 14, 2012 at 5:09 PM

    Just subscribed to your You Tube channel. I already liked your Facebook page. I enjoy reading your posts!

  • Kate SCHWARTZ
    November 14, 2012 at 5:10 PM

    I shared on fb!!

  • Kate SCHWARTZ
    November 14, 2012 at 5:11 PM

    I have subscribed! 😉

  • Renee
    November 14, 2012 at 5:50 PM

    Subscribed to YouTube Channel!

  • Renee
    November 14, 2012 at 5:50 PM

    I “like” MBL on FB!

    • Cassandra
      December 3, 2012 at 5:24 PM

      Hi Renee, you are the winner!

  • Megan
    November 14, 2012 at 5:58 PM

    Sub’d to You Tube! I didn’t know you had a channel! What an amazing give-away! Fingers crossed!

  • Megan
    November 14, 2012 at 5:59 PM

    I also “shared” on Facebook (my own personal page as well as my work page).

  • Alicia Fettig
    November 14, 2012 at 6:15 PM

    I subscribed on youtube!

  • Rebecca
    November 14, 2012 at 6:43 PM

    I subscribed to your channel. I would love to have a composter again! There was one at our rental and since we’ve moved I get a little depressed every time I fill the garbage with veggie scraps!

  • Rebecca
    November 14, 2012 at 6:44 PM

    I’ve liked your facebook page.

  • Rebecca
    November 14, 2012 at 6:44 PM

    I signed up for your newsletter.

  • kate foster
    November 14, 2012 at 7:08 PM

    I subscribed on youtube….love your webisodes!

  • kate foster
    November 14, 2012 at 7:09 PM

    I liked you on facebook

  • kate foster
    November 14, 2012 at 7:09 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter.

  • Sandy
    November 14, 2012 at 7:23 PM

    I subscribed. Hope I win! I’d love to start composting but keep putting it off.

  • Alicia M
    November 14, 2012 at 7:30 PM

    I subscribed to your youtube channel! Thank you!

  • Nicole O
    November 14, 2012 at 7:32 PM

    I subscribed on YouTube.. great to hear your voice in person after following for so long!

  • Nicole O
    November 14, 2012 at 7:33 PM

    I’m already a newsletter subscriber!

  • Alicia M
    November 14, 2012 at 7:34 PM

    I signed up for your newsletter! Thank you!

  • Nicole O
    November 14, 2012 at 7:34 PM

    I’m also a facebook follower!

  • Jessica
    November 14, 2012 at 9:21 PM

    I subscribed your Youtube channel.

  • Jessica
    November 14, 2012 at 9:21 PM

    And I liked your Facebook page 🙂

  • Elizabeth
    November 14, 2012 at 11:22 PM

    Hi! I just “liked” your Facebook page. I’ve been wanting to compost for a long time and I’m excited for the chance to win!

  • Elizabeth
    November 14, 2012 at 11:25 PM

    Hi, I just subscribed to your YouTube channel! My family is slowly (emphasis on slowly!) becoming more green, including my twins drinking raw milk. I think composting would be a great next step!

  • Molly Makes Do
    November 15, 2012 at 1:13 AM

    Yes please! We had to leave our old composter behind when we moved! Followed on Youtube (MMargaretful).

  • Heather
    November 15, 2012 at 1:25 AM

    Subscribed!

  • Melissa
    November 15, 2012 at 1:49 AM

    Subscribed on youtube! Have been a facebook fan and have been subscribing to your newsletter for awhile. Started my first garden this past spring hoping to save money on produce. Wasn’t super successful overall (though my swiss chard and herbs did awesome!), but I’m much more prepared for next spring now. Have wanted to compost, but they are too expensive. Really keeping my fingers crossed for this one. Thanks for the opportunity!

  • Summer
    November 15, 2012 at 2:04 AM

    Subscribed! I would LOVE a composter!

  • Summer
    November 15, 2012 at 2:06 AM

    Liked the Facebook page! Pick me!!

  • Jayne Haire
    November 15, 2012 at 3:15 AM

    Subscribed to your youtube channel!

  • Jayne Haire
    November 15, 2012 at 3:19 AM

    I liked your Facebook page.

  • Valerie Smith
    November 15, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    I subscribed to your You Tube channel

  • Valerie Smith
    November 15, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    I liked your Facebook page.

  • Valerie Smith
    November 15, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    I signed up for your newsletter

  • Jessica
    November 15, 2012 at 1:26 PM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Jessica
    November 15, 2012 at 1:26 PM

    I like you on fb

  • Jessica
    November 15, 2012 at 1:29 PM

    I follow you on utube

  • Angela
    November 15, 2012 at 6:30 PM

    like you on facebook

  • Angela
    November 15, 2012 at 6:32 PM

    I subscribe you you on YouTube.

  • Suzanna
    November 15, 2012 at 6:46 PM

    My problem is that it is SOOOOO dry here in Southern Arizona, I have to water my compost DAILY. Ug. Maybe a contained system like this would work better?

  • Leanne
    November 15, 2012 at 8:36 PM

    I’m suscribed to your channel on youtube.

  • Leanne
    November 15, 2012 at 8:37 PM

    I like you on facebook.

  • Leanne
    November 15, 2012 at 8:37 PM

    I’ve susbcribed to your newsletter.

  • Leanne
    November 15, 2012 at 8:38 PM

    I shared your giveaway on facebook/twitter!

  • Trisha R
    November 15, 2012 at 8:42 PM

    Subscribed to your YouTube channel!

  • Trisha R
    November 15, 2012 at 8:43 PM

    Already “liked” your Facebook page!

  • Trisha R
    November 15, 2012 at 8:43 PM

    Subscribed to your newsletter ages ago!

  • Chris
    November 16, 2012 at 4:18 AM

    Just followed you on YouTube

  • Chris
    November 16, 2012 at 4:18 AM

    And I liked you on FB

  • Chris
    November 16, 2012 at 4:27 AM

    And pinned to Pinterest in my Garden board

  • Anna
    November 19, 2012 at 3:06 AM

    I subscribed to your youtube channel. Would love to win!

  • Anna
    November 19, 2012 at 3:07 AM

    I Like your Facebook page

  • Anna
    November 19, 2012 at 3:08 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter

  • Natalie
    November 19, 2012 at 3:36 AM

    I subscribed on You Tube.

  • Natalie
    November 19, 2012 at 3:37 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter. 🙂

  • Kelsey Gossett
    November 19, 2012 at 3:45 AM

    I subscribed to your YouTube channel!

  • Kelsey Gossett
    November 19, 2012 at 3:45 AM

    I get your newsletter!

  • Kelsey Gossett
    November 19, 2012 at 3:46 AM

    I liked your Facebook page.

  • Patrick
    November 19, 2012 at 3:49 AM

    Subscribed!

  • Margaret Grote
    November 19, 2012 at 4:11 AM

    I subscribe to your youtube channel.

  • Margaret Grote
    November 19, 2012 at 4:11 AM

    I liked your facebook page 🙂

  • Margaret Grote
    November 19, 2012 at 4:13 AM

    I’m subscribed to your newsletter 🙂

  • Stephanie
    November 19, 2012 at 5:20 AM

    I subscribe to your you tube channel!

  • Stephanie
    November 19, 2012 at 5:21 AM

    I like you on Facebook!

  • Stephanie
    November 19, 2012 at 5:22 AM

    I shared this post on my Facebook page!

  • Stephanie
    November 19, 2012 at 5:23 AM

    I subscribe to your newsletter too 🙂

  • Christine Taylor
    November 19, 2012 at 5:34 AM

    Subscriber of newsletter, youtube, and facebook page.

  • Lorina
    November 19, 2012 at 6:12 AM

    Youtube check

  • Lorina
    November 19, 2012 at 6:13 AM

    FB check

  • Lorina
    November 19, 2012 at 6:13 AM

    Shared check

  • Lorina
    November 19, 2012 at 6:13 AM

    Newsletter check & thank you 🙂

  • Sheila Neugent
    November 19, 2012 at 12:39 PM

    I follow you on Pinterest

  • Sheila Neugent
    November 19, 2012 at 12:42 PM

    I subscribed to your Youtube show.

  • Sheila Neugent
    November 19, 2012 at 12:47 PM

    I like you on FB and shared with my daughter-in-love who has been trying to start a garden and a compose bin, but with 5 little one’s it’s hard to do, but winning the compost bin would be wonderful way to start. And a great Christmas present!

  • Sheila Neugent
    November 19, 2012 at 12:48 PM

    I’ve already subscribed to your newsletter. Great stuff!

  • Sarah LaCoss
    November 19, 2012 at 1:52 PM

    I subscribed to your YouTube channel. Didn’t even know you had one!

  • Sarah LaCoss
    November 19, 2012 at 1:52 PM

    I Liked your facebook page!

  • Francesca Hirtle
    November 19, 2012 at 2:06 PM

    Hi Stephanie, I am a subscriber to your YouTube.

  • Sarah LaCoss
    November 19, 2012 at 2:46 PM

    Already get your newsletter 🙂

  • Sarah LaCoss
    November 19, 2012 at 2:46 PM

    Pinned the giveaway on Pinterest under my Amazing Houses/Yards board!

  • Joanie Jordan
    November 19, 2012 at 5:15 PM

    I subscribed to your youtube channel.

  • Jamie
    November 20, 2012 at 3:13 PM

    I already liked your FB and YouTube page! I love your blog….you are an inspiration.

  • Ashlan
    November 22, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    I’ve subscribed to your youtube channel!!

  • Ashlan
    November 22, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    I’ve liked your Facebook page!!

  • Ashlan
    November 22, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    I’ve shared this blog on my Facebook page!!

  • Ashlan
    November 22, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    I’ve subscribed to your newsletter!! I want to win the compost bin!! =D

  • Laurie Stewart
    November 24, 2012 at 4:17 PM

    I subscribed on youtube as morrighanfilms, and liked your page on FB as Laurie Stewart.
    I also ordered your coookbook for 1/2 price. 🙂

  • Francesca Hirtle
    November 26, 2012 at 12:57 AM

    Pinned. 🙂

  • Francesca Hirtle
    November 26, 2012 at 12:58 AM

    Have been signed up for newsletter forever…love it

  • Amber
    November 27, 2012 at 7:51 AM

    I subscribed to your Youtube channel!

    Thx!

  • Amber
    November 27, 2012 at 7:52 AM

    I liked your page on FB!

    Thanks again!

  • Christie M
    November 27, 2012 at 8:42 PM

    I subscribed to your YouTube channel!

  • Christie M
    November 27, 2012 at 8:42 PM

    I like you on Facebook!

  • Christie M
    November 27, 2012 at 8:42 PM

    I receive your newsletter!

  • Molly F
    November 29, 2012 at 3:14 AM

    Hi Stephanie, I want to start composting!

  • Molly F
    November 29, 2012 at 3:15 AM

    I signed up for your YouTube channel!,

  • Sarah B
    November 29, 2012 at 12:48 PM

    I have subscribed to your YouTube channel, liked your FB page, and signed up for your newsletter. I love your posts!