Healthy Kids

Petunia Pickle Bottom Sojourn Sling Review, Tutorial and Giveaway!!

Petunia Pickle Bottom Sojourn Sling Review, Tutorial and Giveaway!!
Drum roll, please! I am very excited to announce our la
giveaway!

The Sojourn Sling from Petunia Pickle Bottom!! I am giving away the one above, in the picture, the fabric is called Moment in Morocco. Isn’t is stunning?! It’s a size medium and will fit a Mama with a shirt size of m-l. It has a bit of stretch in the fabric, so even if you are the larger end, it will fit. I wear a size 40E bra and wear a M to L shirt and it fits fine and has room for Penelope to grow. If you are smaller, you can very easily take it in and hem the seam to make the sling shorter in length to fit.

To enter, go to Petunia Pickle Bottom’s website and browse around then leave a comment below telling me what you love! You can win additional entries by posting on Facebook or Twitter, or on your blog,ย  or become a Fan on the Mama and Baby Love Facebook page. For each entry leave a separate comment. A winner will be randomly selected on October 27th.

They also sent one for me to try out and review. Let me tell you, I am pretty in love with my Maya Wrap, Ella Roo Wrap and my New Native sling, so the Sojourn Sling had stiff competition going up against my other beloved carriers-carriers that I have been using for 5 plus years ( I was nanny before I became a mother).

The Sojourn Sling takes the cake, hands down in the style department. I mean, look at these other fabric options!!! This one, Dancing in Dublin, or this one, Frockling in Fez, make my heart go pitter-patter! And we all know how much I like things to be matchy-matchy, so with these slings, you have the option of get any kid of Petunia Pickle Bottom diaper bag to match!

In the function department, its neck and neck with my Maya Wrap. The Maya Wrap has a slight edge over the Sojourn Sling, because I am able to sort of hog tie Penelope very tightly, in the Maya Wrap. So when I am cooking I put her arms in side the sling and tighten it up and it keeps her little arms safe inside while I cook. Other than that, I like the Sojourn Sling just as much, if not better, because you don’t have to adjust anything!! You just throw it on and off you go.

The New Native sling I have is similar in cut to the Sojourn Sling, except the Sojourn Sling has a bit of stretch to it. So you can get a better, snugger fit with the Sojourn Sling.

And last, but not least, its ORGANIC COTTON! The fabric that is touching your little ones skin all day, not only looks beautiful, its good for their health and the earth. Ah, you couldn’t ask for a better sling than this one!

Seriously, if you are pregnant and trying to figure out what kind of sling to get, get this one in your collection, no question about it. If you are new to babywearing and not sure where to start, START HERE (and be sure to check out my tutorial below!) If you are an old pro, (ahem, like me) and want to try something new and fabulous, buy one!

I am starting to feel like I sound like raving lunatic, so I will end my rave review here, but I am just so impressed with this sling. It hard to find one that is this gorgeous and actually functions they way you need it to.

Now on to the picture and video tutorial!
Petunia Pickle Bottom Sojourn Sling Review Tutorial and Giveaway
Step 1. Line up your sling flat, seam down at the bottom. Place on arm like so. You can wear the sling on either shoulder, makes no difference.
Petunia Pickle Bottom Sojourn Sling Review Tutorial and Giveaway
Then put it over whatever shoulder you want and get it nice and straight. The seam is by your hip. I actually use the sling, a bit different than the directions that came with sling, fyi. This is what works for me. You can also look online, here and herefor more tutorials.
Petunia Pickle Bottom Sojourn Sling Review Tutorial and Giveaway
Then hike your babe up by your shoulder. Bring the fabric out and around them, tucking their feet inside. Then slowly lower them down.
Petunia Pickle Bottom Sojourn Sling Review Tutorial and Giveaway
As you lower them down, open up the sling, and make a little pouch/shelf for their bum. And pull the fabric up to cover up their arms. They will be able to easily take their arms out if they want to.

Petunia Pickle Bottom Sojourn Sling Review Tutorial and Giveaway

And ta-da! Happy Baby!

Check out the same tutorial in video, below. Let me know if you have any questions!

And P.S. this is the kind ofย  Pentunia Pickle Bottom diaper bag I have and I LOVE it. It makes my tired, frumpy ass feel very glamorous. I have both the Carry All and the Clutch.

You Might Also Like

  • simplifry
    September 27, 2010 at 6:10 PM

    Oooh, so pretty, I would love to win it!

  • simplifry
    September 27, 2010 at 6:12 PM

    I also posted a link on facebook ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Maureen
    September 27, 2010 at 7:10 PM

    SOOO cute!!! You and P are adorable!

  • Maureen
    September 27, 2010 at 7:14 PM

    That is a diaper bag?!? Holy smokes that is rad! (I'm going to share this on FOB FB page)

  • Nicole & Emery
    September 27, 2010 at 7:16 PM

    I like the give away fabric best! DH would probably prefer the backpack style though!

  • Maureen
    September 27, 2010 at 7:18 PM

    I <3 the Heirloom fabric…

  • Nicole and Emery
    September 27, 2010 at 7:19 PM

    Posted on facebook too!

  • Rachel
    September 27, 2010 at 8:04 PM

    I absolutely love everything PPB! I have a Cosmopolitan Carryall in French Gooseberry and I cannot say enough good things about it! Best, most organized, most stylish diaper bag ever! And no matter how frumpy or ratty I am feeling, my bag adds a little bit of style and "put-togetherness" to my day. I also have a Touring Tote in Tourmaline (for when I don't need all the space of the Carryall), and I am considering getting a Boxy Backpack (maybe Dancing in Dublin or Brilliant Brussels??). Anyways, I have heard so many good things about their slings, so I would love to win your awesome giveaway!

  • Anonymous
    September 27, 2010 at 11:54 PM

    I am 6 months along and really looking forward to carrying my little one in a sling. This looks perfect.
    Sarah

  • Jamie Willow
    September 28, 2010 at 12:10 AM

    well I love all the patterns of everything…so pretty. I especially loved the Cake collection…the clutch to be specific ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Jamie Willow
    September 28, 2010 at 12:10 AM

    posted a link on facebook ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Jamie Willow
    September 28, 2010 at 12:11 AM

    I also "liked" you on facebook ๐Ÿ™‚ yay!

  • Rachel
    September 28, 2010 at 12:21 AM

    I love the organic kimono layette sets.

  • Lacy
    September 28, 2010 at 12:28 AM

    I love the Brilliant Brussels shoulder bag!

  • Lacy
    September 28, 2010 at 12:30 AM

    I'm a fan:)

  • Lacy
    September 28, 2010 at 12:32 AM

    I posted on Facebook!

  • Lia Dominique Andress
    September 28, 2010 at 12:45 AM

    I love you, Penelope, Sky and Peter. I need me a sling like that, lol. My K'tan is getting so faded it is not sassy frassy for Miami outings. Besides, our daughters need to roll in style.

    <3

  • angiegee
    September 28, 2010 at 1:46 AM

    I would love to have this sling! I am due any day with my 3rd and I need my hands free to wrangle my 2 little ones. Love the Wistful Weekender bag.

  • angiegee
    September 28, 2010 at 1:48 AM

    Just became a FB fan!

  • Rachel
    September 28, 2010 at 12:53 PM

    I retweeted the giveaway ๐Ÿ™‚

  • simplifry
    September 28, 2010 at 5:41 PM

    Oops, I forgot to write that I love the cross town clutches.

  • Anonymous
    September 29, 2010 at 1:38 AM

    i love my son more than anything…. just thinking about him makes me smile i dont have an account that it is asking for but my name is jessica lee. im on ppb facebook.: ) smile. : )

  • Kari J
    October 4, 2010 at 6:25 PM

    I am falling in love with the crib bedding! Thank you so much for sharing!! Your a great place to come to for advice!!!

  • ~*Jamie*~
    October 11, 2010 at 3:17 AM

    PPB stuff is just too cute! I wish I had some of the kimono style bodysuits when DS was born. But I could still use a good sling!

  • ~*Jamie*~
    October 11, 2010 at 3:21 AM

    I also became a fan on fb!

  • Baby B
    October 18, 2010 at 2:20 AM

    I need my hands free to keep up with 2 babies so I love their boxy backpacks

  • Lauren
    October 27, 2010 at 1:27 AM

    Oh man I love PPB stuff! I was soo bummed to see Gammy & Gee close, they carried a large portion of the bags! I LOVE love love this: http://www.petunia.com/collections/original/crosstownclutch/springtimeinsurrey the most! <3!

  • Kari J
    October 27, 2010 at 1:32 AM

    Just bought some sweet baby bedding. Hoping to win the sling!!!!

  • Molly
    October 27, 2010 at 1:32 AM

    Cake Cameo Clutch… Yes Please! Apple Tart or Chocolate will do just fine

  • Rachel
    October 27, 2010 at 1:36 AM

    I also just shared the giveaway on Facebook!!

  • Nicole and Emery
    October 27, 2010 at 1:53 AM

    Oh I also like you on facebook!

  • Holly Galotti
    October 27, 2010 at 3:24 AM

    I am such a sucker for cute and cozy baby socks. PPB socks are SO cute! Have always loved their diaper bags too!

  • Stephanie
    October 27, 2010 at 6:22 PM

    And the winner is…

    Lia Dominique Andress!!

    Enjoy your new "sassy frassy" sling!!

  • Anonymous
    October 28, 2010 at 3:10 AM

    Funny the winner didn't even say what she liked from the web site….UNLIKE!!!!

  • Stephanie
    October 28, 2010 at 12:56 PM

    @anonymous…you are right, I didn't even notice!
    Her use of "sassy frassy" is what caught my eye!
    I think I will change my contest rules for the next one, to whoever comments the funniest, wittiest, kindest, comment. One of my favorite blogs, PrudentBaby.com, does it like that.

  • Anonymous
    November 5, 2010 at 5:23 PM

    I love these diaper bags, they're the best on the market right now in my opinion.